So I'm inching my way out of my freefall a buyin at a time, and yesterday I'm playing very well, really feel like I'm on, can't make a wrong move. Every cbet works. Every delayed cbet works. Every bluff gets them to fold, every value bet gets called. I've inched my way up to where I'm up 2 buyins on the day.
Then. At my only deep-stacked table I catch Jd Js UTG. Raise to $7, get a caller in MP1. The SB calls as well, and we see the flop 3-handed.
Flop is Jh 4c 7s. Nice. The BB checks, I go ahead and bet out $18, MP1 calls and the BB folds. I started the hand with $435 in my stack and MP1 has me covered. He seemed to be a standard TAG with a normal preflop 3bet percentage, and who almost always folded to cbets. A little nitty. I don't think he's calling on this dry flop without some sort of made hand, obviously I'm hoping 77 or 44.
Turn is the As. I felt it was a good card, because I felt like villain had some sort of made hand, and that there was a good chance that improved it. I was hoping that he was just messing around preflop with a hand like A7s, or that I'd caught a particularly lucky flop against AJs, and he was now hopelessly tied to his holding. Barring that, if he had nothing, that's the kind of card that can instigate some kind of random spewbluff, if he puts me on like KK-QQ and thinks that maybe he can take it away on the turn.
There's $59 in the pot now, and I go ahead and bet out $45. He takes his time and raises to $115. Nice! After calling I would have about $340 behind, and I felt the prudent thing would be to get it in now. I take my time and shove. He instacalls.
I actually had the thought "thank fucking goodness, I finally oversetted somebody, and not only that, it was for a double stack and then some!" I haven't oversetted anyone in what feels like ages. Certainly it's been a month at least. During my freefall, on the other hand, I was oversetted three times, one of which being a KK vs. AA, all for full stacks of course.
So I have that thought right up until I notice that - as I'm sure you guessed by now - the motherfucker turns over Ac Ah. Needless to say I missed my one outer and lost what is now my biggest ever pot.
How sick is that? A standard nitty TAG with normal preflop 3bet stats chooses this hand to smooth-call with aces, tying him far more strongly to the hand than if he's the normal preflop aggressor: the price for disguising his hand. He winds up facing a flopped set, the risk you take for a smooth-call, and makes a mandatory call of a cbet on a dry flop.
Then comes the dirty fucking 2-outer turn that I'm sure this guy didn't really think he needed - I'm guessing he plays the hand exactly the same if the turn is a deuce - makes a hyper-strong raise that is literally only getting action from lower sets, and walks his way into a complete 217bb gift.
That erased my profits back to nil, and I didn't stay on much longer: I actually won about $60 by the end of the day, but that's almost beside the point. This fucking game.
Seriously, Full Tilt? Enough with the goddamn doomswitch.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment